h1

Why we need journalists

May 11, 2009

I was reminded why we need professional journalists today. Someone in the office phoned in to say Asda in Bedminster was closed and was swarming with police.

The police press office had no details, which seemed odd, so I drove down to find out what was going on.

Asda were indeed closed, but because they were having some building work done. The ‘police’ were Asda trainees directing traffic in hi-vis tabards.

We should be grateful we don’t always rely on gossip!

3 comments

  1. I’m not sure your anecdote in any way backs up your title!

    How many journalists actually leave the office to report? I mean actual writers, not photographers; and by leaving the office to report, I mean discounting write-ups of after-hours freebies and beanos…


  2. Sorry, I should have clarified – I was talking about journalists working in the written medium rather than broadcasting, where I can see that things are likely to be considerably more OB-orientated for obvious reasons!


  3. Well, I just meant that sometimes the public doesn’t always have that much common sense with regard to how public life works.

    I have lost count of the number of times I’ve been told supposedly important information by people, only to discover it is in fact irrelevant or completely untrue when I go and check it.

    Don’t get me started on journalists being chained to their desks too much – I could hardly agree more.



Leave a Reply

