h1

Archive – Anti-Social Behaviour

May 4, 2009

It’s not often as a news journalist that I get to report on something factual and get to say what I really think about it. But this is one piece in which I did.

I went out on a patrol with police in Staple Hill, Bristol in January. They were very keen to show off their ‘carrot and stick’ approach to tackling anti-social behaviour in the area. On the carrot side, the police were supporting a new friday night boxing club and a youth club. On the stick side, they responded quickly to reports from people who called in to complain.

In this context, ‘anti-social behaviour’ really meant just kids drinking in the park. Frankly, I don’t really believe this is the great social plague that some people make it out to be. I did it when I was a teenager and I don’t think I’m a bad ‘un.

The only thing that frustrated me was that the payoff line I used in the report, that one of the kids said to me, “The reason I’m here right now is because my parents go out drinking every friday and I don’t see why I shouldn’t be allowed to as well” was said to me off-mic. But them’s the breaks…

My report:

Leave a Reply

